CS240: Data Structures and Data Management, Winter 2018
Home/Announcements

Course Description

The course introduces widely used and effective methods of data organization, focusing on data structures, algorithms, and the performance of these algorithms. Specific topics include priority queues, sorting, dictionaries, data structures for text processing.

More details on the goals and coverage of the course can be found in the official course description.

Announcements

  • Updated exam office hours have been posted on the Personnel page. (2019-04-05)
  • Assignment 5 has been posted and is due Wednesday, March 27 at 5pm (2019-03-14)
  • Midterm re-mark requests due Mon. March 25 5:00pm Re-mark requests will only be accepted using the following link (authentication is required to ensure requester is on the classlist). (2019-03-11)
  • CS 240 Midterm Results (2019-03-06)
  • Harry's office hours cancelled are cancelled Tuesday, March 5th and Wednesday, March 6th. See piazza for more details. (2019-03-04)
  • Due to the CS240 midterm, all CS240R lectures will be cancelled on Thursday, February 28. (2019-02-27)
  • However, there will still be CS240E lectures and CS240E students should refer to the 240E piazza for more details.

  • Assignment 4 has been posted and is due Wednesday, March 13 at 5pm (2019-02-27)
  • Olga's Tuesday February 26th office hours will be moved to 11am-12pm. (2019-02-24)
  • Midterm Help Session time as well as other miderm related content have been posted https://www.student.cs.uwaterloo.ca/~cs240/w19/exams.phtml (2019-02-21)
  • Reading Week (Tues 19th Feb - Fri 22nd Feb) consulting/office hours follow a different schedule. Check Piazza for details (2019-02-19)
  • Due to the University closure Thurs. Feb. 12 (2019-02-12)
  • Assignment 3 has been posted and is due Wednesday, February 27 at 5pm (2019-02-11)
  • Due to the University closure Wed. Feb. 6

  • Olga's Wednesday office hours (11am-12pm) are cancelled for today. (2019-01-30)
  • Assignment 2 has been posted and is due Wednesday, February 6 at 5pm (2019-01-23)
  • A0Q6 was updated. For this question, include an image of the animal you added to the table in Q5 along with a caption. (2019-01-10)
  • Assignment 1 has been posted and is due Wednesday, January 23 at 5pm (2019-01-08)
  • Assignment 0 has been posted and is due Wednesday, January 16 at 5pm (2019-01-08)
  • There will be no tutorial Monday, January 7. Tutorials will begin January 14th. (2019-01-05)